2019 Medical Doctor Renewal
LICENSE RENEWAL FOR PHYSICIANS WHOSE LAST NAMES BEGIN
WITH THE LETTERS M – Z BEGINS WEDNESDAY, MAY 8, 2019
Effective at 11:59 pm Eastern Daylight Savings Time (EDST) on June 30, 2019, all current licenses for physicians whose last names begin with the letters M through Z (“M through Z physicians”) will expire unless successfully renewed during the Board’s renewal period.
License renewal for M through Z physicians begins on Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 8:30 am, and ends promptly at 4:30 pm EDST on Friday, June 28, 2019. Failure to renew by this deadline will result in licensure expiration. Because there is no grace period for practice after expiration, the Board strongly encourages early renewal to avoid unexpected problems or delays in renewal completion.
License renewal will commence on Wednesday, May 8, 2019 at 8:30 am EDST, and will end promptly at 4:30 pm EDST on Friday, June 28, 2019. The Board will not accept renewal applications on Saturday June 29, 2019 or Sunday June 30, 2019. Failure to renew by 4:30 pm EDST on Friday, June 28, 2019 will result in license expiration.
By May 8, 2019, a link to the Board’s renewal application will be available on the Board’s website. The Board has published a revised list of Frequently Asked Questions about common renewal concerns.
The Board’s renewal fee for physicians has not changed:
ACTIVE LICENSE - $400.00 INACTIVE LICENSE - $150.00
ACTIVE status licensees may change their licensure status during renewal. To change license status from INACTIVE to ACTIVE, please contact the Board office in advance of renewal.
Renewal applicants must successfully complete all required CME between July 1, 2017 and the date that a renewal application is submitted.
Additional Requirements for Renewal
PICF Fee - The West Virginia Legislature has assessed a Patient Injury Compensation Fund fee against hospitals, trial lawyers and active status West Virginia physicians (with very limited exemptions). Physicians must pay a $125 assessment fee to the Board of Risk & Insurance Management each renewal cycle through the year 2021. The Board is prohibited from renewing a medical license if the PICF fee is not paid. The PICF fee is payable through the PICF fee portal on the Board’s website. Please pay the PICF fee early to avoid unnecessary congestion in the e-gov payment portal on June 28, 2019.
Proof of West Virginia Controlled Substance Monitoring Program Database Registration - Physicians who have prescribed or dispensed any Schedule II, III, and/or IV controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia medical license since July 1, 2017, must verify registration and access to the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy’s Controlled Substance Monitoring Program (CSMP) database. Renewal applicants will be required to provide the date of his or her CSMP registration as it appears on his or her West Virginia Board of Pharmacy certificate. Please obtain a copy of the certificate before renewing.
Please review the 2019 Renewal FAQs for additional information.
2019 MD Renewal Application