LICENSE RENEWAL FOR PHYSICIANS WHOSE LAST NAMES BEGIN
WITH THE LETTERS A THROUGH L BEGINS MONDAY MAY 11, 2020
To assist the West Virginia Board of Medicine in relieving regulatory burdens on practitioners who are responding to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Governor has suspended certain provisions of the Medical Practice Act to give the Board flexibility regarding license expiration and renewal during the current State of Emergency. This has allowed the Board to extend the licensure expiration date for all physicians whose last names begin with the letters A through L from June 30, 2020 until September 30, 2020. Controlled Substance Dispensing Practitioner Registration renewal for A-L physicians is also extended until September 30, 2020.
Effective at 11:59 pm Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on September 30, 2020, all current licenses for physicians whose last names begin with the letters A through L (“A through L physicians”) will expire unless successfully renewed during the Board’s renewal period. Because there is no grace period for practice after expiration, the Board encourages early renewal to avoid unexpected problems or delays in renewal completion.
Physicians who were granted a West Virginia medical license through the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact “IMLC” licensing process cannot utilize the Board’s online renewal application. IMLC licensees must renew through the IMLC process. IMLC licensees should refer to the May 5, 2020 email from the Board for specific IMLC renewal instructions.
Online renewal will begin at 8:30 am EDT on Monday, May 11, 2020. However, the renewal period will be extended until 4:30 pm EDT on September 30, 2020. All renewed licenses will be valid until 11:59 pm EDT on June 30, 2022. Failure to renew by 4:30 pm EDT on Wednesday, September 30, 2020 will result in license expiration.
By May 11, 2020, a link to the Board’s renewal application will be available. The Board has published a revised list of Frequently Asked Questions about common renewal concerns.
The Board’s renewal fee for physicians has not changed:
ACTIVE LICENSE - $400.00 INACTIVE LICENSE - $150.00
ACTIVE status licensees may change their licensure status during renewal. To change license status from INACTIVE to ACTIVE, please contact the Board office in advance of renewal.
Renewal applicants must successfully complete all required CME between July 1, 2018 and the date that a renewal application is submitted.
Additional Requirements for Renewal
PICF Fee - The West Virginia Legislature has assessed a Patient Injury Compensation Fund fee against hospitals, trial lawyers and active status West Virginia physicians (with very limited exemptions). Physicians must pay a $125 assessment fee to the Board of Risk & Insurance Management each renewal cycle through the year 2022. The Board is prohibited from renewing a medical license if the PICF fee is not paid. The PICF fee is payable through the PICF fee portal on the Board’s website. Please pay the PICF fee early to avoid unnecessary congestion in the e-gov payment portal on September 30, 2020.
Proof of West Virginia Controlled Substance Monitoring Program Database Registration - Physicians who have prescribed or dispensed any Schedule II, III, and/or IV controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia medical license since July 1, 2018, must verify registration and access to the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy’s Controlled Substance Monitoring Program (CSMP) database. Renewal applicants will be required to provide the date of his or her CSMP registration as it appears on his or her West Virginia Board of Pharmacy certificate. Please obtain a copy of the certificate before renewing.
Please review the 2020 Renewal FAQs for additional information.
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Please print an updated wallet card prior to renewing. If you have not printed a new wallet card since May 5, 2020, your wallet card does not reflect your COVID-19 State of Emergency license extension from June 30, 2020 to September 30, 2020. Your renewal wallet card will be valid for the period of October 1, 2020 through June 30, 2022. You must print an updated wallet card prior to renewal to obtain verification of licensure for the period of July 1, 2020 through September 30, 2020.
MD Renewal Application