

State of West Virginia *Board of Medicine*

101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 Charleston, WV 25311 Telephone (304) 558-2921 wvbom.wv.gov

DPM REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

If your West Virginia podiatric medical license expired on June 30, 2025, you are eligible to apply for reinstatement of licensure until June 30, 2026. Beginning July 1, 2026, you must apply for reactivation of licensure, which requires the submission of a reactivation application.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL APPLICANTS

By law, you MUST keep this office apprised of any and all address changes that occur, including changes to your email address.

To **AVOID** delay in licensure reinstatement, or continued **EXPIRATION** of your podiatric medical license, answer each question legibly and accurately. Review the entire application to verify that each answer is correct and complete. Illegible or incomplete applications **will be returned**.

Provide complete information in each of your responses. If you answer "yes" to any of the professional practice, character and fitness questions, you must provide a written explanation for each "yes" response and produce all related documentation. Your application will be considered INCOMPLETE if you do not provide the required explanations and documentation.

Your personal certification of accuracy and your original, dated signature is required in four different places on this application. Please review your responses carefully and make sure that you have signed and dated the form in <u>all of the required locations</u>. Because your original signature is required, applications are not accepted via facsimile or email.

Please do not delegate completion of the reinstatement application to any other person. Completion of the reinstatement application is solely the responsibility of the applicant.

Applications which fail to complete within six months will expire.

Please keep a copy of your complete application for your records.

Mail your completed application to:

WEST VIRGINIA BOARD OF MEDICINE 101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 Charleston, WV 25311

DPM REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Instructions for reinstatement applicants seeking an ACTIVE status license:

- 1. Complete the reinstatement application, selecting ACTIVE STATUS, and return it to the Board office. The ACTIVE STATUS application fee is \$600 (\$400 active renewal fee and \$200 reinstatement fee). Please do not include the \$600 fee with your application. The West Virginia Board of Medicine accepts online credit card payments for all fees. Upon receipt of your application, the Board will send payment instructions via email.
- 2. In association with the reinstatement application, you must submit documentation supporting successful completion of the required continuing podiatric education.
- 3. Complete, sign and date the continuing podiatric education certification and provide documentation supporting successful completion of the required CPE.
- 4. If you have prescribed or dispensed Schedule II, III, IV or V controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia podiatry license since July 1, 2023, and have been registered with the West Virginia Controlled Substances Monitoring Database, you must submit a copy of your certificate of registration.

Instructions for reinstatement applicants seeking an INACTIVE status license:

- 1. If you hold an INACTIVE STATUS license, you may not practice podiatric medicine in West Virginia. Any practice of podiatric medicine whatsoever, including the writing of prescriptions, is ACTIVE PRACTICE. Continuing podiatric education is required for both an active status and inactive status license.
- 2. Complete the reinstatement application, selecting INACTIVE STATUS, and return it to the Board office. The INACTIVE STATUS application fee is \$225 (\$150 inactive renewal fee and \$75 reinstatement fee). Please do not include the \$225 fee with your application. The West Virginia Board of Medicine accepts online credit card payments for all fees. Upon receipt of your application, the Board will send payment instructions via email.
- 3. Complete, sign and date the continuing podiatric education certification and provide documentation supporting successful completion of the required CPE.
- 4. If you have prescribed or dispensed Schedule II, III, IV or V controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia podiatry license since July 1, 2023, and have been registered with the West Virginia Controlled Substances Monitoring Database, you will be required to submit a copy of your certificate of registration.

Podiatric Physician License Reinstatement Application (For the license period ending June 30, 2027)

Name:					
First Name Middle Name		Last Name Suffix			
License No.: Date of Birth:		Social Security No.: XXX-XX Sex:			
Licensure Status Virginia unless your lic		d status for reinstat	ing your license. You may	v not practice p	oodiatric medicine in West
	Active Sta	tus (\$600.00 fee)	Inactive St	t atus (\$225.0	0 fee)
Preferred Contact you. The Board may also				nation that the	Board will use to contact
Business Name (if app	licable):				
Street Address:				Telepho	one:
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	'ax:
Email Address: Mobile Telephone:			one:		
Home Address - Yoo office box as your home		s your principal plac	ce of residence and is a ph	nysical address	. Please do not use a post
Street Address:				Telepho	one:
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	'ax:
Primary Work A website.	ddress - Your p	rimary work addres	ss is publicly available o	n the West V	irginia Board of Medicine
Business Name (if app	licable):				
Street Address:				Telepho	one:
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	ax:
Secondary Work	Address (if applied	cable)			
Business Name (if app	licable):				
Street Address:				Telepho	one:
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	ax:

Podiatric Physician License Reinstatement Application – Page 2

Name:
Practice Information - For the period of July 1, 2023 through today, please list each and every state and/or Canadian Province where you have been licensed, whether such license is currently active or not.
Current Hospital Privileges - Please list all West Virginia hospitals where you currently have admitting privileges.
I do not currently have admitting privileges at any West Virginia hospital(s).
Medical/Podiatric Corporation or Professional Limited Liability Company - Please list each medical/podiatric corporation or professional limited liability company for which you are currently a shareholder, owner, member or partner.
I am not a shareholder, owner, member or partner of a medical/podiatric corporation or a professional limited liability company.
Workforce Planning Data - The Board is required by law to collect this data. If you are unsure of your retirement date, please provide your best estimate. The Board cannot process your application if you do not complete this section.
Will you be actively practicing podiatric medicine in West Virginia? Yes No
Anticipated date of retirement (year): Percentage of time in direct services: Percentage of time in administration:
Specialty - Enter the code for your specialty.
Codes for self-designation of practice specialty / area of practice:FOR – Foot Orthopedics or BiomechanicsPGR – PodogeriatricsS – Surgery
GP -General PracticePPD -PodopediatricsOS -Other SpecialtyPD -Podiatric DermatologyROE -RoentgenologyNS -No Specialty
Primary Specialty: Secondary Specialty (if applicable):

Child Support – The following certification is required by state law, and "making a false statement may subject the license holder to disciplinary action including, but not limited to, immediate revocation or suspension of the license." W. Va. Code § 48-15-303. If you answer "yes" to any of the below questions, and if further information is needed, you will be notified.

I certify, under penalty of false swearing, that:

		Yes	No
1	. I have a court ordered child support obligation.		
2	. I have a court ordered child support obligation and any arrearage amount equals or exceeds the amount of child		
	support payable for six months.		
3	. I am the subject of a child support related subpoena or warrant.		

Name:

Certification of Continuing Podiatric Education Compliance – If you are unable to certify compliance with the CPE requirements, you are not eligible to reinstate. A list of Board approved courses which satisfy the mandatory risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training is available at https://wvbom.wv.gov/2025CPECourses.asp. Include your CPE certificates with your application. If your CPE certificates are not included, you will not be eligible to reinstate.
 A. Mandatory Risk Assessment and Responsible Prescribing of Controlled Substances Training / Drug Diversion Training and Best Practice Prescribing of Controlled Substances Training. Please select the option below that is applicable to you. You must select one.

I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I completed a minimum of 3 hours of risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training through a course which has been approved by the West Virginia Board of Medicine. I attest that I have reviewed the list of Board approved courses on the Board's website, and that the course I took is on the list and was completed between July 1, 2023 and today.

<u>OR</u>

I hereby attest that during the period of July 1, 2023 through today, I did not and will not prescribe, administer, or dispense any controlled substances pursuant to my West Virginia license. I therefore request that the Board waive the risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training CPE requirement.

<u>OR</u>

I hereby attest that my initial DPM license was issued by the West Virginia Board of Medicine after July 1, 2024, and I will complete a minimum of 3 hours of risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training through a course which has been approved by the West Virginia Board of Medicine within one year of my date of initial licensure.

B. Other Continuing Podiatric Education for the period of July 1, 2023 through the present. Please select the statement below that describes how you satisfied your CPE obligation for the identified reporting period. <u>You must select one.</u>

I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I have successfully completed a minimum of 50 hours of continuing podiatric education satisfactory to the Board. All courses for which I claim credit have been approved by the APMA or Council on Podiatric Medical Education; were presented or sponsored by any of the podiatry colleges in the United States; are designated as Category I by the AMA or AAFP; or were presented or sponsored by the West Virginia Podiatric Medical Association. Thirty hours of courses for which I claim credit are within my designated area(s) of specialty. I understand that I cannot claim more than 20 hours of podiatric or medical teaching/preceptorship towards my 50-hour total. I understand that if I am ineligible for a waiver of the mandatory risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances in my 50-hour total.

<u>OR</u>

I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I have successfully completed one full year of graduate training approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education or the Colleges of Podiatric Medicine, and I can provide written verification from my program if requested by the Board.

<u>OR</u>

I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I sat for and passed a certification or recertification examination of the American Board of Podiatric Medicine or the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery and received certification or recertification from the said board during the reporting period.

Continuing Podiatric Education Attestation – I hereby attest that I have provided a true and accurate certification of my continuing education. Additionally, I have enclosed with my application either copies of certificates or other evidence of CPE compliance as described in the section above.

Original Signature:

Date:

Professional Practice, Character and Fitness Questions – During the period of July 1, 2023 through today, have you, <u>in any jurisdiction, for any reason</u>:

		Yes	No
1.	been called before or appeared before any board or panel for discussions or questions concerning violations of		
	the law or rules pertaining to the practice of podiatric medicine, or for unethical conduct?		
2.	been charged with or convicted of or pled nolo contendere to any felony or misdemeanor? If your answer is yes,		
	submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions.		
3.	been charged with or convicted of a violation of the Controlled Substance Act or any other federal, state or local		
	law pertaining to the manufacture, distribution, prescribing, or dispensing of controlled substances? If your answer		
	is yes, submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions.		
4.	had limitations, restrictions or conditions placed upon your license to practice by a medical/podiatric board, or		
	had your license to practice suspended, revoked or subjected to any kind of disciplinary action, including censure,		
	reprimand or probation by a medical/podiatric board, and/or are any disciplinary actions pending against you?		
5.	voluntarily surrendered (not expired) to a medical/podiatric board or limited your podiatric license with a		
	medical/podiatric board?		
6.	had any hospital privileges, and/or postgraduate training, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, or subjected to		
	any kind of disciplinary action, including censure, reprimand or probation? If your answer is yes, you must have the		
	facility submit directly to the Board prior to reinstatement of your license all documentation related to your answer.		
7.	voluntarily resigned from any medical/podiatric staff or voluntarily limited such staff privileges while under		
	investigation by any health care institution or committee thereof or prior to any final decision by a hospital or		
	health care facility's governing board?		
8.	been denied the right to take an examination for licensure in any state or been ejected from any podiatric		
	examination?		
9.	been denied a license to practice podiatric medicine?		
10.	had your DEA registration restricted or removed?		
11.	been convicted of Medicare or Medicaid fraud, and/or received any sanctions, including restriction, suspension		
	or removal from practice imposed by an agency of the federal or state government?		
12.	had any judgments or settlements arising from medical professional liability rendered or made against you		
	between July 1, 2023 to present? For each medical professional liability settlement or judgment you report, please		
	provide: (1) the name of the patient(s) alleging medical professional liability; (2) the date of loss; (3) the date of		
	settlement or judgment; (4) the amount of the settlement or judgement against you; (5) the name of the insurance		
	company providing coverage to you with respect to this claim; and (6) a brief description of the allegations and		
	a summary of the care provided. Your application is incomplete until all of the requested information is submitted		
10	for each settlement and/or judgment.		
13.	been addicted to, or received treatment for the use or misuse of, prescription drugs and/or illegal chemical		
	substances, or been dependent upon alcohol or received treatment for alcohol dependency? (You may answer		
	"no" if you are a participant in a written voluntary agreement with the West Virginia Medical Professionals		
	Health Program, Inc., the West Virginia Board of Medicine designated physician health program.) If you answer		
	yes and have gone through a rehabilitation program during the time frame designated above, you MUST have that program furnish this Board a report of your treatment and progress.		
14.	had any interruption in your practice of podiatric medicine which might reasonably be expected by an objective		
	person to currently impair your ability to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the podiatric profession in a		
	manner consistent with standards of conduct for the podiatric profession?		
15.	had anything occur which might reasonably be expected by an objective person to currently impair your ability		
	to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the podiatric profession in a manner consistent with the standards		
	of conduct for the podiatric profession?		
Prof	essional Practice, Character and Fitness Attestation – All of my responses to the questions o	n thi	is

page are truthful and complete. If I have "yes" responses, I have enclosed written explanations, with my original dated signature for each question, and I have enclosed or caused to be submitted all requested supporting documentation.

Name:

Proof of Controlled Substance Monitoring Program Registration - All podiatric physicians who prescribe or dispense Schedule II, III, IV and/or V controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia license are required to be registered with the West Virginica Controlled Substance Monitoring Program (WVCSMP). This is not the same as a DEA registration, and is obtained through the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy at https://www.csappwv.com.

Please check the box that is applicable to you. You must select one.

I am not currently registered with the CSMP, but I understand that if I intend to prescribe or dispense any Schedule II, III, IV and/or V controlled substances pursuant to my West Virginia podiatric license, I must be registered to access the WVCSMP within 30 days of receipt of any podiatric license issued pursuant to this application.

CSMP Attestation – I hereby attest that I have provided a true and accurate certification of my CSMP registration status. I have enclosed a copy of my CSMP registration if applicable.

Original Signature:

Date:

Application Certification

I understand that as the applicant, I am required to personally complete this application, and I am solely responsible for the accuracy and completeness of the information provided, including all information regarding my practice since July 1, 2023, and my certification of successful completion of all required continuing podiatric education.

I understand that prior to dispensing or administering any controlled substances, including free samples, in an office-based setting I must be registered with the Board as a controlled substance dispensing practitioner for each of my controlled substance dispensing locations.

I have carefully read and understood all the questions included on each page of this reinstatement application and have answered all the questions completely, without reservations of any kind. I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.

I understand that any license issued based upon this reinstatement application is based on the truth of the statements contained herein. Should I furnish false or misleading information in this reinstatement application, I hereby agree and understand that any such act shall constitute good cause for disciplinary action and/or the subsequent revocation of licensure.

I understand that regardless of the date of my signatures, all statements in this reinstatement application relate to the entire period of July 1, 2023 to the present. If, after I provide my signature and prior to reinstatement of licensure, any answer should change for any reason, I have a duty to notify the Board and amend my reinstatement application.

Original Signature:	<mark>Date:</mark>
Mail the completed reinstatement application to:	West Virginia Board of Medicine 101 Dee Drive, Suite 103

dicine Charleston, WV 25311

Do not include the reinstatement application fee with your application. Upon receipt of your completed application, the Board will send payment instructions via email to the email address provided on this application.

I am currently registered with the CSMP, and the date of registration as it appears on my CSMP registration certificate is: ____/___. (mm/dd/yyyy)