
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

2025 Podiatric Physician License Renewal 
 
Please find enclosed a 2025 Podiatric Physician License Renewal Application. To avoid 
expiration of your podiatric medical license on June 30, 2025, the Board must receive your 
completed renewal application and payment of the renewal application fee prior to 4:30 pm 
Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on June 30, 2025.  
 
The West Virginia Board of Medicine requires renewal applicants to personally complete their 
renewal application. Any errors, omissions or misstatements are solely the responsibility of the 
renewal applicant.  
 
The Board requires your original, hand-written signature on the renewal application; therefore, 
applications are not accepted via email or facsimile. Once completed, make a copy of the 
renewal application for your records, and mail the original application to:  
 
    West Virginia Board of Medicine 
    101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 
    Charleston, West Virginia 25311 
 
Applications with a stamped or digital signature, or which are incomplete and/or illegible will be 
returned to your mailing address unprocessed. Your original, dated, hand-written signature is 
required in 2 places on this application. Please make sure you sign and date pages 3 and 5. Your 
application is incomplete without these signatures.  
 
The renewal application fee is $400.00 for an active status license and $150.00 for an inactive 
status license. You must hold an active status license in order to practice podiatric medicine in 
West Virginia. Do not submit payment with your application. Upon receipt of your completed 
renewal application, the Board will send payment instructions to the email address provided on 
the application. Your application will not be processed until payment is received.  
 
If the Board does not receive your completed renewal application and payment of the 
renewal fee prior to 4:30 pm EDT on June 30, 2025, your podiatric medical license will 
expire effective at 11:59 pm EDT on June 30, 2025. If your podiatric medical license 
expires, you must cease practicing podiatric medicine in the State of West Virginia.  
 
If you have questions regarding renewal, please review the 2025 Podiatric Physician Renewal 
FAQs that are available on the Board’s website, wvbom.wv.gov.  
 
 
 
 
 

        State of West Virginia 
        Board of Medicine 

 
                              101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 
                             Charleston, WV  25311     
                            Telephone (304)558-2921 
                                     wvbom.wv.gov 
 
                             
 

http://www.wvbom.wv.gov/


2025 Podiatric Physician License Renewal Application 
 (For the Period of July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2027) 
 

In accord with federal law, please be advised that disclosure of your Social Security Number is MANDATORY in order for the 
Board to comply with the requirements of the federal National Practitioner Data Bank. While completing this application, 
please type or print legibly.  
 
Name:_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                First Name                               Middle Name                                                Last Name                 Suffix 
  
License No.:________________  Date of Birth:_____________  Social Security No.: XXX-XX-_________  Sex:________ 
_______                           ____________________________________________________________  

Licensure Status - Indicate your desired status for renewing your license. You may not practice podiatric medicine in West 
Virginia unless your license status is active.   
      

       Active Status ($400.00 renewal fee)                                       Inactive Status ($150.00 renewal fee) 
 

Preferred Contact Information - Preferred contact information is the information that the Board will use to contact 
you. The Board may also contact you at any email address you provide.  
 
Business Name (if applicable):_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address:_______________________________________________________________Telephone:_________________ 
 
City:____________________  State:________  Zip Code:__________   County:______________  Fax:__________________ 
 
Email Address: _____________________________________________________      Mobile Telephone:_________________ 
 

Home Address - Your home address is your principal place of residence and is a physical address. Please do not use a post 
office box as your home address. 

 
Street Address:_______________________________________________________________Telephone:_________________ 
 
City:____________________  State:________  Zip Code:__________   County:______________  Fax:__________________ 
 

Primary Work Address - Your primary work address is publicly available on the West Virginia Board of Medicine 
website.  
 
Business Name (if applicable):_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address:_______________________________________________________________Telephone:_________________ 
 
City:____________________  State:________  Zip Code:__________   County:______________  Fax:__________________ 
 

Secondary Work Address (if applicable) 
 
Business Name (if applicable):_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Street Address:_______________________________________________________________Telephone:_________________ 
 
City:____________________  State:________  Zip Code:__________   County:______________  Fax:__________________ 
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Name: ___________________________ 
 

Practice Information - For the period of July 1, 2023 through today, please list each and every state and/or Canadian 
Province where you have been licensed, whether such license is currently active or not.   
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

Current Hospital Privileges - Please list all West Virginia hospitals where you currently have admitting privileges.  
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
                 I do not currently have admitting privileges at any West Virginia hospital(s). 
 

Medical/Podiatric Corporation or Professional Limited Liability Company - Please list each 
medical/podiatric corporation or professional limited liability company for which you are currently a shareholder, owner, member 
or partner. 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

            I am not a shareholder, owner, member or partner of a medical/podiatric corporation or a professional limited liability   
           company. 

 

Workforce Planning Data - The Board is required by law to collect this data.  If you are unsure of your retirement date, 
please provide your best estimate. The Board cannot process your application if you do not complete this section.  
 
Are you actively practicing podiatric medicine in West Virginia?                     Yes                    No 
 
Anticipated date of retirement (year): ______  Percent of time in direct services: ____    Percent of time in administration: _____ 
 

Specialty - Enter the code for your specialty. 
 

Codes for self-designation of practice specialty / area of practice:  
 

FOR – Foot Orthopedics or Biomechanics               PGR – Podogeriatrics  S – Surgery 
GP – General Practice                                  PPD – Podopediatrics  OS – Other Specialty 
PD – Podiatric Dermatology                         ROE – Roentgenology  NS – No Specialty 
 
Primary Specialty:  ____________________               Secondary Specialty (if applicable):  ____________________ 
 

Child Support – The following certification is required by state law, and “making a false statement may subject the license 
holder to disciplinary action including, but not limited to, immediate revocation or suspension of the license.” West Virginia 
Code §48-15-303. If you answer “yes” to any of the below questions, and if further information is needed, you will be notified. 
 

I certify, under penalty of false swearing, that:  
                         Yes  No  
 
1.  

 
I have a court ordered child support obligation. 

  

2.  I have a court ordered child support obligation and any arrearage amount equals or exceeds the amount of          
child support payable for six months. 

  

 
3.  

 
I am the subject of a child support related subpoena or warrant. 
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Name:____________________________ 

 

Certification of Continuing Podiatric Education Compliance - If you are unable to certify compliance with 
the CPE requirements, you are not eligible to renew. A list of Board approved courses which satisfy the mandatory risk 
assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of 
controlled substances training is available at https://wvbom.wv.gov/2025CPECourses.asp.   
 

A. Mandatory Risk Assessment and Responsible Prescribing of Controlled Substances Training / Drug 
Diversion Training and Best Practice Prescribing of Controlled Substances Training.  Please select the 
option below that is applicable to you. You must select one. 

 

I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I completed a minimum of 3 hours of risk assessment and 
responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of 
controlled substances training through a course which has been approved by the West Virginia Board of Medicine. I 
attest that I have reviewed the list of Board approved courses on the Board’s website, and that the course I took is on 
the list and was completed between July 1, 2023 and today.   

OR  
I hereby attest that during the period of July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2025, I did not and will not prescribe, 
administer, or dispense any controlled substances pursuant to my West Virginia license. I therefore request that the 
Board waive the risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion 
training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training CPE requirement.  
 

OR  
I hereby attest that my initial DPM license was issued by the West Virginia Board of Medicine after July 1, 2024, 
and I will complete a minimum of 3 hours of risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances 
training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training through a course 
which has been approved by the West Virginia Board of Medicine within one year of my date of initial licensure.   
 

 

  B.      Other continuing podiatric education for the period of July 1, 2023 through the present. Please select the 
statement below that describes how you satisfied your CPE obligation for the identified reporting period. 
You must select one. 

 

I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I have successfully completed a minimum of 50 hours of 
continuing podiatric education satisfactory to the Board.  All courses for which I claim credit have been approved by 
the APMA or Council on Podiatric Medical Education; presented or sponsored by any of the podiatry colleges in the 
United States; designated as Category I by the AMA or AAFP; or presented or sponsored by the West Virginia 
Podiatric Medical Association. Thirty hours of courses for which I claim credit are within my designated area(s) of 
specialty. I understand that I cannot claim more than 20 hours of podiatric or medical teaching/preceptorship towards 
my 50-hour total. I understand that if I am ineligible for a waiver of the mandatory risk assessment and responsible 
prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled 
substances training course, I can include that course in my 50-hour total. 

  OR 
I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I have successfully completed one full year of graduate training 
approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education or the Colleges of Podiatric Medicine, and I can provide 
written verification from my program if requested by the Board. 

  OR 
I hereby attest that between July 1, 2023 and today, I sat for and passed a certification or recertification examination 
of the American Board of Podiatric Medicine or the American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery and received 
certification or recertification from the said board during the reporting period.  
 

Continuing Podiatric Education Attestation – I hereby attest that I have provided a true and accurate certification 
of my continuing education.  
 
Original Signature: ______________________________________________________     Date:_________________________ 
 
You may be audited! A sample number of podiatric physicians will be audited for the purpose of documenting continuing education hours. If audited, 
you will be required to provide proof by submitting acceptable written confirmation of your completion of required continuing education.  If you 
have requested a waiver of the 3-hour risk assessment and responsible prescribing of controlled substances training / drug diversion training and 
best practice prescribing of controlled substances training CE, part of your audit may require independent verification through the CSMP that you 
have not prescribed any controlled substances during the requisite period. 

https://wvbom.wv.gov/2025CPECourses.asp
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Name:____________________________ 
 

Professional Practice, Character and Fitness Questions – During the last two-year registration period of 
July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2025 have you, in any jurisdiction, for any reason:  
                          Yes No 
1. been called before or appeared before any board or panel for discussions or questions concerning violations of the 

law or rules pertaining to the practice of podiatric medicine, or for unethical conduct? 
  

2. been charged with or convicted of or pled nolo contendere to any felony or misdemeanor? If your answer is yes, 
submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions. 

  

3. been charged with or convicted of a violation of the Controlled Substance Act or any other federal, state or local 
law pertaining to the manufacture, distribution, prescribing, or dispensing of controlled substances? If your answer 
is yes, submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions. 

  

4.  had limitations, restrictions or conditions placed upon your license to practice by a medical/podiatric board, or 
had your license to practice suspended, revoked or subjected to any kind of disciplinary action, including censure, 
reprimand or probation by a medical/podiatric board, and/or are any disciplinary actions pending against you? 

  

5.  voluntarily surrendered (not expired) to a medical/podiatric board or limited your podiatric license with a 
medical/podiatric board? 

  

6. had any hospital privileges, and/or postgraduate training, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, or subjected to 
any kind of disciplinary action, including censure, reprimand or probation? If your answer is yes, you must have the 
facility submit directly to the Board by the renewal deadline all documentation related to your answer.   

  

7. voluntarily resigned from any medical/podiatric staff or voluntarily limited such staff privileges while under 
investigation by any health care institution or committee thereof or prior to any final decision by a hospital or 
health care facility's governing board? 

  

8. been denied the right to take an examination for licensure in any state or been ejected from any podiatric 
examination? 

  

 
9. 

 
been denied a license to practice podiatric medicine? 

  

 
10. 

 
had your DEA registration restricted or removed? 

  

11. been convicted of Medicare or Medicaid fraud, and/or received any sanctions, including restriction, suspension or 
removal from practice imposed by an agency of the federal or state government? 

  

12. had any judgments or settlements arising from professional liability rendered or made against you between July 
1, 2023 and June 30, 2025? For each professional liability settlement or judgment you report, please provide: (1) 
the name of the patient(s) alleging medical professional liability; (2) the date of loss; (3) the date of settlement or 
judgment; (4) the amount of the settlement or judgment against you; (5) the name of the insurance company 
providing coverage to you with respect to this claim; and (6) a brief description of the allegations and a summary 
of the care provided. Your application is incomplete until all of the requested information is submitted for each 
settlement and/or judgment. 

  

13. been addicted to, or received treatment for the use or misuse of, prescription drugs and/or illegal chemical 
substances, or been dependent upon alcohol or received treatment for alcohol dependency?  (You may answer 
“no” if you are a participant in a written voluntary agreement with the West Virginia Medical Professionals 
Health Program, Inc., the West Virginia Board of Medicine designated physician health program.) If you answer 
yes and have gone through a rehabilitation program during the time frame designated above, you MUST have that program furnish 
this Board a report of your treatment and progress by the renewal deadline. 

  

14. had any interruption in your practice of podiatric medicine which might reasonably be expected by an objective 
person to currently impair your ability to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the podiatric profession in a 
manner consistent with standards of conduct for the podiatric profession? 

  

15. had anything occur which might reasonably be expected by an objective person to currently impair your ability to 
carry out the duties and responsibilities of the podiatric profession in a manner consistent with the standards of 
conduct for the podiatric profession? 

  

 
ALL “YES” ANSWERS MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY A WRITTEN EXPLANATION, EXPLAINING IN DETAIL YOUR “YES” ANSWER(S).  YOU 
MUST ALSO ENCLOSE, OR CAUSE TO BE SUBMITTED, ALL REQUESTED SUPPORTIVE DOCUMENTATION. 
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Name:____________________________ 
 

Proof of Controlled Substance Monitoring Program Registration – All physicians who prescribe or 
dispense any Schedule II, III, IV and/or V controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia license are required to be 
registered with the West Virginia Controlled Substance Monitoring Program (CSMP). This is not the same as a DEA 
registration, and is obtained through the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy at https://www.csappwv.com.  
 

Please check the box that is applicable to you.  You must select one. 
     I am currently registered with the CSMP, and the date of registration as it appears on my CSMP registration 
certificate is:________/_______/________.(mm/dd/yyyy) 
 

Since July 1, 2023 I have not prescribed or dispensed any controlled substances pursuant to my West Virginia 
podiatric license, and I am not registered with the CSMP.   
 
 

 

Application Certification  
 

I understand that as a licensee, I am required to personally complete this application, and I am solely responsible for the 
accuracy and completeness of the information provided, including all information regarding my practice in the last two years 
and my certification of successful completion of all required continuing podiatric education. 
 

I understand that prior to dispensing or administering any controlled substances, including samples in an office-based setting, 
I must be registered (or renew my registration) with the Board as a controlled substance dispensing practitioner for each of my 
controlled substance dispensing locations. 
 

I have carefully read and understood all the questions included on each page of this renewal application and have answered all 
the questions completely, without reservations of any kind. I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein 
are true and correct. 
 

I understand that any license issued based upon this renewal application is based on the truth of the statements contained 
herein. Should I furnish false or misleading information in this renewal application, I hereby agree and understand that any 
such act shall constitute good cause for disciplinary action and/or the subsequent revocation of my license. 
 

I understand that regardless of the date of my signatures, all statements in this renewal application relate to the entire period of 
July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2025. If, after I provide my signature and prior to June 30, 2025, any answer should change for any 
reason, I have a duty to notify the Board and amend my renewal application. 
 

I certify that I have provided true and accurate information in response to the 15 Professional Practice, Character and Fitness 
Questions on page 3 and regarding my CSMP registration status.  
 

 
Original Signature: ______________________________________________________     Date:_________________________ 
  
Mail the completed renewal application to:       West Virginia Board of Medicine 
                  101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 
             Charleston, West Virginia 25311 
 
Do not include the renewal application fee with your application. Upon receipt of your completed application, the Board 
will send payment instructions via email to the email address provided on this application.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

May 2025 

 

 

https://www.csapp.wv.gov/

