

State of West Virginia **Board of Medicine**

101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 Charleston, WV 25311 Telephone (304) 558-2921 www.wvbom.wv.gov

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

If your West Virginia medical license expired on September 30, 2020, you are eligible to apply for reinstatement of licensure until September 30, 2021. Beginning October 1, 2021, you must apply for reactivation of licensure, which requires the submission of a reactivation application.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL APPLICANTS

By law, you MUST keep this office apprised of any and all address changes that occur during your registration period, including changes to your email address.

To **AVOID** delay in licensure reinstatement, or continued **EXPIRATION** of your medical license, answer each question legibly and accurately. Review the entire application to verify that each answer is correct and complete. Illegible or incomplete applications **will be returned**. Applications received without the correct fee **will be returned**. We will be unable to finalize the processing of any application that is not complete.

Provide complete information in each of your responses. If you answer "yes" to any of the professional practice, character and fitness questions, you must provide a written explanation for each "yes" response and produce all related documentation. Your application will be considered INCOMPLETE if you do not provide the required explanations and documentation.

Your personal certification of accuracy and your original, dated signature is required in three different places on this application. Please review your responses carefully and make sure that you have signed and dated the form in <u>all of the required locations</u>. Because your original signature is required, applications are not accepted via facsimile or email.

Please do not delegate completion of the reinstatement application to any other person. Completion of the reinstatement application is solely the responsibility of the licensee.

Please keep a copy of your complete application for your records.

Mail your completed application with all documentation and the appropriate fee to:

WEST VIRGINIA BOARD OF MEDICINE 101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 Charleston, WV 25311

<u>Instructions for reinstatement applicants seeking an ACTIVE status license:</u>

- 1. Reinstatement applicants seeking an ACTIVE STATUS license must pay the Patient Injury Compensation Fund assessment fee, in the amount of \$125, prior to submitting a reinstatement application. Information regarding the PICF assessment fee is available on the Board's website. PICF payments are deposited directly into the Board of Risk Management account, and therefore must be paid online through the PICF fee portal on the Board's website at www.wvbom.wv.gov/assessment/. The Board cannot accept any other method of PICF payment.
- 2. Complete the reinstatement application, selecting ACTIVE STATUS, and return it to the Board office with the total fee of \$600 (\$400 active renewal fee and \$200 reinstatement fee). Make your check or money order payable to the West Virginia Board of Medicine.
- 3. In association with the reinstatement application, you must submit documentation supporting successful completion of the required continuing medical education.
- 4. If you have prescribed or dispensed Schedule II, III or IV controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia medical license since July 1, 2018, and have been registered with the West Virginia Controlled Substances Monitoring Database, you must submit a copy of your CSMP Certificate of Registration with your reinstatement application.

Instructions for reinstatement applicants seeking an INACTIVE status license:

- 1. If you hold an INACTIVE STATUS license, you may not practice medicine in West Virginia. Any practice of medicine whatsoever, including the writing of prescriptions, is ACTIVE PRACTICE. Continuing medical education is required for both an active status and inactive status license.
- 2. Complete the reinstatement application, selecting INACTIVE STATUS, and return it to this office with the total fee of \$225 (\$150 inactive renewal fee and \$75 reinstatement fee). Make your check or money order payable to the West Virginia Board of Medicine.
- 3. Complete, sign and date the Continuing Medical Education Certification and provide documentation supporting successful completion of the required CME.
- 4. If you have prescribed or dispensed Schedule II, III or IV controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia medical license since July 1, 2018 and have been registered with the West Virginia Controlled Substances Monitoring Database, you must submit a copy of your CSMP Certificate of Registration with your reinstatement application.

Medical Doctor License Reinstatement Application (For the license period ending June 30, 2022)

Name:					
First Name	Middl	e Name	Last	Name	Suffix
License No.:	Date of Birth	n:	Social Security No.: X	XX-XX	Sex:
Licensure Status - Ind in West Virginia unless you			ng your license. You may	not practice	medicine and surgery
Ac	tive Status (\$600	.00 fee)	☐ Inactive S	status (\$225.	00 fee)
Please be advised that your	contact information	may be subject to	release by the Board pur	suant to a pub	lic records request.
Preferred Contact Ir you. The Board may also co				ion that the E	Board will use to contact
Business Name (if applicab	ole):				
Street Address:				Telepho	ne:
City:	_ State: Zi	p Code:	County:	Fax: _	
Email Address:			Mobile Telephone:		
Home Address - Your office box as your home add		ur principal place	of residence and is a physical	sical address.	Please do not use a post
Street Address:				Telephor	ne:
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	'ax:
Primary Work Adda website.	ress - Your prima	ry work address	is publicly available on t	he West Virg	ginia Board of Medicine
Business Name (if applicab	ole):				
Street Address:				Telephor	ne:
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	'ax:
Secondary Work Ad	dress (if applicabl	e)			
Business Name (if applicab	ole):				
Street Address:			Telephone:		
City:	State:	Zip Code:	County:	F	'ax:

Medical Doctor License Reinstatement Application – Page 2

Nai	me:		
	actice Information - For the period of July 1, 2018 through today, please list each and every state and vince where you have been licensed, whether such license is currently active or not.	or C	anadian
Cu	rrent Hospital Privileges - Please list all West Virginia hospitals where you currently have admitting p	rivile	ges.
	I do not currently have admitting privileges at any West Virginia hospital.		
	edical Corporation or Professional Limited Liability Company - Please list each medical confessional limited liability company for which you are currently a shareholder, owner, member or partner.	orpor	ation or
	I am not a shareholder, owner, member or partner of a medical corporation or a professional limited liabil company.	ity	
	orkforce Planning Data - The Board is required by law to collect this data. If you are unsure of your retase provide your best estimate. The Board cannot process your application if you do not complete this section.	ireme	nt date,
Will	l you be actively practicing medicine in West Virginia? Yes No		
Anti	icipated date of retirement (year):		
Perc	centage of time in direct services:		
Perc	centage of time in administration:		
Spe	ecialty - Enter the code for your specialty. A list of specialty codes is enclosed with this application.		
Prin	mary Specialty: Secondary Specialty (if applicable):		
hold §48-	sild Support – The following certification is required by state law, and "making a false statement may subject to disciplinary action including, but not limited to, immediate revocation or suspension of the license." West Vi-15-303. If you answer "yes" to any of the below questions, and if further information is needed, you will be not rtify, under penalty of false swearing, that:	rirgin/	ia Code
	I have a court ordered child support obligation.		
2	2. I have a court ordered child support obligation and any arrearage amount equals or exceeds the amount of child support payable for six months.		
3	3. I am the subject of a child support related subpoena or warrant.		

NT		Medical Doctor License Reinstatement Application – Page 3
Name	e :	
CME c	ertif	ation of Continuing Medical Education Compliance – Include your AMA PRA Category I ficates and Drug Diversion Training certificate with your application. If the CME is not included, you will not to reinstate.
A. You m		Iandatory Drug Diversion Training and Best Practice Prescribing of Controlled Substances Training select one.
	pra Vir	tween July 1, 2018 and today, I completed a minimum of three (3) hours of drug diversion training and best actice prescribing of controlled substances training through a course which has been approved by the West reginia Board of Medicine. I attest that I have reviewed the list of Board approved courses on the Board's besite, and that the course I took is on the list and was completed between July 1, 2018 and today.
<u>OR</u>		
	any	test that during the period of July 1, 2018 through September 30, 2020, I did not prescribe, administer, or dispense a controlled substance pursuant to a West Virginia license. I therefore request that the Board waive this CME uirement.
В.	0	Other Continuing Medical Education for the Period of July 1, 2018 Through the Present
You m	ust s	select one.
	of des wit tea ma	ereby attest that between July 1, 2018 and today, I have successfully completed a minimum of fifty (50) hours continuing medical education satisfactory to the Board. All courses for which I claim credit have been signated as Category 1 CME by the AMA or the AAFP. Thirty hours of courses for which I claim credit are thin my designated area(s) of specialty. I understand that I cannot claim more than 20 hours of medical ching/preceptorship towards my 50-hour total. I understand that if I am ineligible for a waiver of the ndatory drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training CME, I can lude that course in my 50-hour total.
<u>OR</u>		
		ereby attest that in addition to either completing the mandatory drug diversion training and best practice escribing of controlled substances training, or requesting a waiver of that requirement:
	a.	Between July 1, 2018 and today, I sat for and passed a certification or recertification examination of an American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) member board and received certification or recertification and I can provide written verification if requested by the Board; or
	b.	I am American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) certified, and between July 1, 2018 and today, I have been successfully involved in maintenance of certification (MOC) and can provide written verification of MOC involvement from my ABMS Board if requested by the Board; or
	c.	Between July 1, 2018 and September 30, 2020, I have successfully completed one full year of ACGME approved post-graduate training, and I can provide written verification from my program if requested by the Board.
Proof	f of	Controlled Substance Monitoring Program Registration – All physicians who prescribe or
dispense with th	se So e Wo	chedule II, III and/or IV controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia license are required to be registered est Virginia Controlled Substance Monitoring Program (CSMP). This is not the same as a DEA registration, and through the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy at https://www.csappwv.com .
Please	che	ck the box that is applicable to you. You must select one.
	I	am currently registered with the CSMP, and I have enclosed a copy of my CSMP registration certificate.
	and/o	m not currently registered with the CSMP, but I understand that if I intend to prescribe or dispense any Schedule or IV controlled substances pursuant to my West Virginia medical license, I must be registered to access the within 30 days of receipt of any medical license issued pursuant to this application.
CME	ar	nd CSMP Attestation - I hereby attest that I have provided a true and accurate certification of my
continu	iing	education and my CSMP registration status, and that my CME attestation is supported by the CME certificates ided with my application.
	•	ignature: Date:

Medical Doctor License Reinstatement Application – Page 4

\mathbf{Y}	es No
been called before or appeared before any board or panel for discussions or questions concerning violations of the law or rules pertaining to the practice of medicine, or for unethical conduct?	
been charged with or convicted of or pled nolo contendere to any felony or misdemeanor? <u>If your answer is yes, submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions.</u>	
been charged with or convicted of a violation of the Controlled Substance Act or any other federal, state or local law pertaining to the manufacture, distribution, prescribing, or dispensing of controlled substances? <u>If your answer</u> is yes, submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions.	
had limitations, restrictions or conditions placed upon your license to practice by a medical board, or had your license to practice suspended, revoked or subjected to any kind of disciplinary action, including censure, reprimand or probation by a medical board, and/or are any disciplinary actions pending against you?	
voluntarily surrendered (not expired) to a medical board or limited your medical license with a medical board?	
had any hospital privileges, and/or postgraduate training, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, or subjected to any kind of disciplinary action, including censure, reprimand or probation? If your answer is yes, you must have the facility submit directly to the Board prior to reinstatement of licensure all documentation related to your answer.	
voluntarily resigned from any medical staff or voluntarily limited such staff privileges while under investigation by any health care institution or committee thereof or prior to any final decision by a hospital or health care facility's governing board?	
been denied the right to take an examination for licensure in any state or been ejected from any medical examination?	
been denied a license to practice medicine?	
had your DEA registration restricted or removed?	
or removal from practice imposed by an agency of the federal or state government?	
had any judgments or settlements arising from medical professional liability rendered or made against you, and if so, how many? For each judgment or settlement, provide the name(s) of the claimant(s), your insurer, whether you are reporting a judgment or a settlement and the amount and date of each judgment or settlement using the form provided.	
been addicted to, or received treatment for the use or misuse of, prescription drugs and/or illegal chemical substances, or been dependent upon alcohol or received treatment for alcohol dependency? (You may answer "no" if you are a participant in a written voluntary agreement with the West Virginia Medical Professionals Health Program, Inc., the West Virginia Board of Medicine designated physician health program.) If you answer yes and have gone through a rehabilitation program during the time frame designated above, you MUST have that program furnish this Board a report of your treatment and progress by the renewal deadline.	
had any interruption in your practice of medicine which might reasonably be expected by an objective person to currently impair your ability to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the medical profession in a manner consistent with standards of conduct for the medical profession?	
had anything occur which might reasonably be expected by an objective person to currently impair your ability to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the medical profession in a manner consistent with the standards	
	the law or rules pertaining to the practice of medicine, or for unethical conduct? been charged with or convicted of or pled nolo contendere to any felony or misdemeanor? If your answer is yes, submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions. been charged with or convicted of a violation of the Controlled Substance Act or any other federal, state or local law pertaining to the manufacture, distribution, prescribing, or dispensing of controlled substances? If your answer is yes, submit with your application certified copies of all court records related to any such charges, pleas and/or convictions. had limitations, restrictions or conditions placed upon your license to practice by a medical board, or had your license to practice by a medical board, or had your license to practice by a medical board, or had your voluntarily surrendered (not expired) to a medical board or initived your medical license with a medical board? had any hospital privileges, and/or postgraduate training, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, or subjected to any kind of disciplinary action, including censure, reprimand or probation? If your answer is yes, you must have the facility submit directly to the Board prior to reinstatement of licensure all documentation related to your answer. voluntarily resigned from any medical staff or voluntarily limited such staff privileges while under investigation by any health care institution or committee thereof or prior to any final decision by a hospital or health care facility's governing board? been denied the right to take an examination for licensure in any state or been ejected from any medical examination? been denied a license to practice medicine? had your DEA registration restricted or removed? been convicted of Medicare or Medicaid fraud, and/or received any sanctions, including restriction, suspension or removal from practice imposed by an agency of the federal or state government? had any judgments or se

Medical Doctor License Reinstatement Application – Page 5 Name:_____ Application Certification

I understand that as a licensee, I am required to personally complete this application, and I am solely responsible for the accuracy and completeness of the information provided, including all information regarding my practice since July 1, 2018, and my certification of successful completion of all required continuing medical education.

I understand that prior to dispensing or administering any controlled substances, including samples in an office-based setting, I must be registered with the Board as a controlled substance dispensing practitioner for each of my controlled substance dispensing locations.

I have carefully read and understood all the questions included on each page of this reinstatement application and have answered all the questions completely, without reservations of any kind. I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.

I understand that any license issued based upon this reinstatement application is based on the truth of the statements contained herein. Should I furnish false or misleading information in this reinstatement application, I hereby agree and understand that any such act shall constitute good cause for disciplinary action and/or the subsequent revocation of my license.

I understand that regardless of the date of my signatures, all statements in this reinstatement application relate to the entire period of July 1, 2018 to present. If, after I provide my signature and prior to reinstatement of my license, any answer should change for any reason, I have a duty to notify the Board and amend my reinstatement application.

Original Signature:	Date: