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Mission

The West Virginia Board of Medicine is
the state agency charged with protecting
the health and safety of the public through
licensure, regulation and oversight of medical
doctors (MDs), podiatric physicians (DPMs),
and collaborating physician assistants (PAs).

Vision
We will be a national leader in innovative
oversight of health professionals.

Core Values

Integrity - Our actions are congruent with our
words. We question actions inconsistent with
our values.

Public Protection (Compliance) - We follow
the law and achieve complete compliance to
the rules, policies and procedures that have
been established to safeguard the public and
to regulate fairly the health care professionals
we serve.

Accountability (Accuracy) - We believe we
must ensure that information is exact and
correct. Strong attention to detail and editing
our work are essential.

Trust (Reliability & Respect) - We strive
to earn the confidence of others. We
demonstrate consistently strong performance
with respect and dignity.

At a Glance - “Vital Statistics” Active
licenses in WV as of July. 1, 2018:

MD — 4,386 (total active 6,889)
DPM — 83 (total active 116)
PA-974

Staff

17 - Administration; Licensing, Certification
and Renewals Division; and Investigation,
Complaints and Compliance Division.

West Virginia

Priority Issue

For providers, the West Virginia Board of
Medicine has adopted Guidelines for the
Chronic Use of Opioid Analgesics in Patient
Care. The guidelines are available on our
website at www.wvbom.wv.gov.

The Board also has teamed up with the West
Virginia Attorney General’s Office and other
organizations to tackle opioid use in high
school athletics. With more than two million
high school sports injuries reported each
year, young athletes are particularly at risk.

+  28.2% used medical opioids at least
once over a three-year period;

*  11% have used opioid medication for
nonmedical reasons;

+  Nearly 25% of students who chronically
use prescription opioids also use
heroin.

The most commonly prescribed opioid
painkillers are oxycodone (OxyContin) and
hydrocodone (Lortab and Vicodin).

The campaign emphasizes non-narcotic
pain  management options, including
physical therapy, chiropractic care, massage
therapy, acupuncture and over-the-counter
medications. For more information, visit
htps://ago.wv.gov.

General CME Requirements

+ MDs and DPMs — min. 50 hours in preced-
ing 2 years; include at least 30 hours in
area(s) of specialty; min. 3 hours of drug
diversion training and best practice pre-
scribing of controlled substances

* PAs —min. 100 hours in preceding 2
years; min. 3 hours of drug diversion
training and best practice prescribing of
controlled substances

Budget
+ Total (FY 2018-19): $2,421,541

+ Source: The West Virginia Board of Medicine

is financially self-sufficient.
+ Licensing fees = 100% of Board budget

» No General Revenue Fund
appropriations

+ Fines returned to General Revenue Fund
(FY 2017-18): $18,750

FY 2018-2019 Budget Allocations
1% 2% 2%

M Personnel/Staff Salaries - 39%
O Goods and Services - 33%

B Employee Benefits - 11%

O Overhead (rent, utilities) - 8%
@ Attorney General/Legal - 4%
O Board Expenses - 1%

M Travel - 2%

B Expert Witness Contracts - 2%

Board Membership (Structure/Appointment)
* 16 members —8 MDs, 2 DPMs, 2 PAs and 3
lay members, all appointed by the Gover-

nor, plus state health officer (ex officio).

Board Time Commitment

+ Board members average 14 hours bimonth-
ly in meetings and preparation.

+ Does not include travel or downtime in
Charleston.

+ Board meets at 9 a.m. on the 2" Monday of
January, March, May, July, September and
November.

+ Committees meet on Saturdays and Sun-
days preceding Monday board meetings.

+ Special meetings and conference calls, as
necessary.

Committee Service (6 board committees):
+ Complaint Committee

+ Executive/Management Committee

+ Legislative Committee

+ Licensure Committee

+ Personnel Committee

+ Physician Assistant Committee

Committees include 3 to 8 board members.

Fees

The below fees are based on a 2-year renewal
cycle The national average for initial licensing
fees is $545 (based on a 2-year cycle).

Initial & Renewal License $400

Temporary License $100
Reinstatement (active) $600
Reinstatement (inactive) $225
PAs  Fees
Initial License $250
Renewal License $150
Reinstatement $225
Temporary License $50
Practice Agreements $100
Initial Filing Fee $500
Renewal (annual) $250

Initial FiIin! Fee $100

Among surrounding states,
KY and MD have higher licensing
fees than WV, based on a 2-year

licensing cycle. Fees have not
increased since May 2010. MDs
also pay a $125 PICF fee.

Investigations

The Board receives an average of 190
complaints per year, many alleging
multiple violations.

From 7/1/16 to 6/30/18, the Board:

. Received 380 complaints — 106
remained open/pending as of 6/30/18;

«  Entered 58 Orders, Consent Orders or
Amended Consent Orders regarding
complaints against MDs, DPMs and
PAs.

+  Closed 216 complaints without Board
action.





