

State of West Virginia **Board of Medicine**

AHMED DAVER FAHEEM, MD
PRESIDENT

RAHUL GUPTA, MD, MPH SECRETARY 101 Dee Drive, Suite 103 Charleston, WV 25311 Telephone 304.558.2921 Fax 304.558.2084 www.wvbom.wv.gov

R. CURTIS ARNOLD, DPM VICE PRESIDENT

ROBERT C. KNITTLE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Contact:
Robert C. Knittle
Executive Director
West Virginia Board of Medicine
(304) 558-2921
Robert.C.Knittle@wv.gov

For Immediate Release: November 4, 2015

Knittle serving on multi-state licensure commission

Charleston, WV __ The executive director of the West Virginia Board of Medicine is among a nationwide group of commissioners charged with shaping a new process that allows physicians to practice medicine in multiple states.

Robert C. Knittle and other members of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission met for the first time on Oct. 27-28 in Chicago to establish an administrative framework for the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact.

"By getting the commission up and running, we're putting the managerial and administrative structure of the compact into place," Knittle explained. "The compact offers a streamlined, multistate licensing process for those physicians interested in participating."

The compact establishes a voluntary licensing pathway for physicians that eliminates the need to apply separately for a license in more than one state. By significantly streamlining the licensure process, the compact is expected to expand access to health care – especially to patients in underserved areas of the country – and facilitate new modes of health care delivery, such as telemedicine.

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission consists of two voting representatives from each state that has enacted the compact. In its first year of legislative consideration, 11 states have enacted the compact.

West Virginia became the fifth state to enact the compact when Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin signed **HB 2496** into law, effective June 10. Other states in the compact include Alabama, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming.

As additional states enact the compact, new representatives will be added to the commission.

The compact has been endorsed by a broad coalition of health care stakeholders, including the American Medical Association and the American Osteopathic Association.

During the inaugural meeting in Chicago, commission members adopted temporary bylaws, appointed committees and elected the following officers: chair – Ian Marquand (Montana); vice chair – Jon Thomas, MD (Minnesota); secretary – Diana Shepard, CMBE (West Virginia); and, treasurer – Brian Zachariah, MD (Illinois)

The next meeting of the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission will be held Dec. 18 in Salt Lake City, Utah. For more information about the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, visit: http://www.licenseportability.org.