PICF Assessment

In an effort to ensure the solvency of the West Virginia Patient Injury Compensation Fund, which was established as a result of tort reform, the West Virginia Legislature has assessed a Patient Injury Compensation Fund fee against hospitals, trial lawyers and West Virginia physicians. Currently, the law requires physicians to pay a $125 assessment fee to the Board of Risk & Insurance Management ("BRIM") each renewal cycle through 2021. The Board is prohibited from renewing your license if you do not pay the PICF fee.

If you currently hold an Inactive status license, you are not required to pay the PICF fee and may access your renewal application directly. Medical residents currently participating in an accredited full-time program of post-graduate medical education in West Virginia and whose training programs will not complete prior to July 1, 2018 are also exempt. If your residency or fellowship concludes prior to July 1, 2018, you must pay the PICF fee assessment.

There are a few additional very narrow exemptions from the PICF fee assessment. You are not required to pay the PICF fee assessment if you:

  • Are on active duty in the U.S. armed forces and would not be reimbursed by the armed forces for the assessment;
  • Practice solely under a special volunteer medical license; or
  • Practice less than 40 hours a year in West Virginia and provide medical genetic services to patients in West Virginia.
  • There are no other exemptions or waivers for this mandatory fee.

Login

Please include hyphens and
spaces if applicable.
mm/dd/yyyy