Medical Doctor License Renewal
Renewal begins May 2, 2018 for physicians with last names
beginning with the letters A through L
If you are a physician whose last name begins with the letter A through L, your West Virginia medical license is scheduled to expire at 11:59 p.m. EDST on June 30, 2018. There is no grace period for practice after your medical license expires. To avoid license expiration, you must successfully complete the Board’s licensure renewal process before 4:30 p.m. on Friday June 29, 2018. If you successfully renew your license, it will be valid for the period of July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2020.
License renewal will commence on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 8:30 a.m. EDST, and will end promptly at 4:30 p.m. EDST on Friday, June 29, 2018. The Board will not accept renewal applications on Saturday, June 30, 2018.
Beginning May 2, 2018, a link to the Board’s renewal application will be available on the Board’s website. The Board has published a revised list of Frequently Asked Questions about renewal to assist you with any questions you may have.
The Board’s renewal fee for physicians has not changed this licensure cycle:
Active - $400.00 Inactive – $150.00
Only ACTIVE status licensees may change their licensure status online during renewal. If you want to change your application status from INACTIVE to ACTIVE, please contact the Board office in advance of renewal.
New Requirements for Renewal
The West Virginia Legislature has assessed a Patient Injury Compensation Fund fee against hospitals, trial lawyers and active status West Virginia physicians (with very limited exemptions). Currently, the law requires physicians to pay a $125 assessment fee to the Board of Risk & Insurance Management each renewal cycle through the year 2021. The Board is prohibited from renewing your license if you do not pay the PICF fee. Because of the pass-through nature of the payment, the only way to pay your PICF fee is through the PICF fee portal on the Board’s website. The Board encourages you to pay your PICF fee early to avoid unnecessary congestion in the e-gov payment portal at the end of the renewal period.
Proof of Registration to Access the West Virginia
Controlled Substance Monitoring Program Database
If you have prescribed or dispensed Schedule II, III, and/or IV controlled substances pursuant to a West Virginia medical license since July 1, 2016, you may not renew your West Virginia medical license without verification that you have obtained and maintained access to the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy’s Controlled Substance Monitoring Program (CSMP) database. You will be required to enter the date, mm/dd/yyyy, that you originally registered for CSMP access on your renewal application. This date appears on your CSMP registration certificate issued by the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy. If you need a copy of your certificate, please obtain it in advance of renewal.
Please make sure you have successfully completed all required CME in advance of renewal. If you have prescribed, administered or dispensed any controlled substances in any jurisdiction between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2018, your required CME includes a Board approved course in drug diversion training and best practices prescribing of controlled substances that you completed between July 1, 2016 and the date you submit your renewal application.
If you have any questions regarding renewal, please review the 2018 Renewal FAQs.